Newbie about to order?

New to the Volkswagen ID.3 Forums? Introduce yourself here
SimonS

Post by SimonS »

Hi,

I am a newbie to this and it the first time I have posted in any forum.

I am on the verge of placing an order for an ID3 (family pro perfor) and came across the forum so have been reading through the various threads. Range comments and technical issues were most helpful and stories of trips Bristol to Cornwall taking 6 hours for 200 miles amusing!

My general trips are local, home to office would be about 80miles round trip, so this works with a charge every couple of days at home, no charging at the office. Once a forth night I have to travel from Stratford on Avon to Tyneside and back in a day, yes I know that a 450mile round trip so it’s definitely an on-route charge, around Leeds. I am generally a relaxed driver and I currently achieve 40 to 42 MPG from the Freelander on such a trip so this is doable on a single tank of diesel with plenty to spare.

I could do the 140 miles home to Leeds (Ionity?) and charge but need to get to site and back to a charger (Leeds?) to get back home but would need to start on 100%.

1) What is the issue with charging to 100% on the battery? Everyone talks about the 80% to 10% window for use but this severely limits the range to around 200 miles so I am very worried about this reduction.

2) I have been watching the 4 charges at the Weatherby services over the past 6 months on this regular trip and noticed the increasing use, often they are all in use now, how are you finding accessing chargers in reality on a day to day basis, it’s not like petrol/diesel where we have lots options (and prices)?

3) The infotainment system lack of lighting is a concern, how real of an issue do users find this in the dark?

4) Rear speakers…..say no more even on the family model. Kids have phones!

5) What is the best and most effective way to charge on the road, the new Shell regen looks promising?